My latest love: Fruit-Infused Water

3 Jan

Citrus-infused water www.sleevers.wordpress.com

 

A lot of sleevers have trouble ingesting plain water at first. So we replaced our old water habit with a Propel zero and G2 habit. But by the time you drink the fake sugars in 64 oz of those a day, it’s not really all that great for you is it?

So I resorted to making fruit-infused water. It’s really so easy I want to kick myself for not trying this before. At first I thought I needed fancy equipment but it turns out, you really don’t. Sure you could buy one of the cutsie bottles with a core made specifically for infusing fruit. Or you could do what I did, which is take a big ole Rubbermaid jug, put in some water, and throw in some fruit. Voila! Fancy schmancy fruit infused water! See my low-tech version in the picture? Don’t pour the fruit into the glass like I did, that was just to make it pretty, just for you 🙂 Leave the fruit in the jug.

My first “recipe” was half a lemon, 1 lime, and 1 orange sliced thin into 64 ounces of water.  I put it in the fridge for 2 hours and it provided a wonderful tang to the water, with no fake sugar. I was happy to discover that it “sits” well with the sleeve too. Each time I pour out a cup, I fill the jug back with water. Three days from the day I first made it, I will pour it out, throw away the fruit, and start over.

Here are some the combinations that I think I want to try

  • Peach & Ginger
  • Orange & Mint
  • Peach and Sage
  • Blueberries & Watermelon
  • Cucumber &  honeydew melon
  • Raspberry & lemon
  • Grapefruit & Mint
  • Orange & Rosemary
  • Pomegranate & Lime
  • Apple & Cinnamon stick
  • Ginger & Pear
  • Blackberries & Mint
  • Mango & Ginger
  • Watermelon & Basil

What combinations do you like?

Share your thoughts